top of page

Gaetz Resolution Would Strip Security Clearances from Intel Officials Who Lied About Hunter's Laptop

March 29, 2022

Press Release

Washington, D.C. — Today, U.S. Congressman Matt Gaetz (FL-01) will introduce the “Spook Who Cried Wolf Resolution,” a House Resolution to indefinitely bar security clearances for 51 intelligence officials who publicly signed a letter decrying the contents of Hunter Biden’s laptop as Russian disinformation. On October 19, 2020, 51 former intelligence officials signed a letter titled, “Public Statement on the Hunter Biden Emails,” which claimed Hunter Biden’s emails were a part of a “Russian information operation.” Following the censorship of the New York Post’s exposé on the emails by Big Tech and media tycoons, the New York Times confirmed the legitimacy of the emails on March 17, 2022. As of March 22, 2022, 4 of the 51 signatories maintained their support for the erroneous letter. The Spook Who Cried Wolf Resolution is co-sponsored by U.S Representatives Andy Biggs (AZ-05), Dan Bishop (NC-09), Louie Gohmert (TX-01), Paul Gosar (AZ-04), Marjorie Taylor Greene (GA-14), and Thomas Massie (KY-04). Text of the full resolution can be found HERE. The following individuals signed the October 19 letter smearing Hunter Biden’s laptop as Russian disinformation:

  1. Jim Clapper

  2. Mike Hayden

  3. Leon Panetta

  4. John Brennan

  5. Thomas Finger

  6. Rick Ledgett

  7. John McLaughlin

  8. Michael Morell

  9. Mike Vickers

  10. Doug Wise

  11. Nick Rasmussen

  12. Russ Travers

  13. Andy Liepman

  14. John Moseman

  15. Larry Pfeiffer

  16. Jeremy Bash

  17. Rodney Snyder

  18. Glenn Gerstell

  19. David B. Buckley

  20. Nada Bakos

  21. Patty Brandmaier

  22. James B. Bruce

  23. David Cariens

  24. Janice Cariens

  25. Paul Kolbe

  26. Peter Corsell

  27. Brett Davis

  28. Roger Zane George

  29. Steven L. Hall

  30. Kent Harrington

  31. Don Hepburn

  32. Timothy D. Kilbourn

  33. Ron Marks

  34. Jonna Hiestand Mendez

  35. Emile Nakhleh

  36. Gerald A. O’Shea

  37. David Priess

  38. Pam Purcilly

  39. Marc Polymeropoulos

  40. Chris Savos

  41. Nick Shapiro

  42. John Sipher

  43. Stephen Slick

  44. Cynthia Strand

  45. Greg Tarbell

  46. David Terry

  47. Greg Treverton

  48. John Tullius

  49. David A. Vanell

  50. Winston Wiley

  51. Kristin Wood

### For updates, subscribe to Congressman Gaetz’s newsletter here.


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page